Skip to Content

Neverwinter Release Module 22 on the Preview Server to Massive Community Backlash (Again)

Neverwinter Release Module 22 on the Preview Server to Massive Community Backlash (Again)

Another Neverwinter module and another round of recycled content and reworked systems. This time around it’s the Refinement and Enchantment systems that are being put through the wringer, and yet again the community is speaking out against the changes and the lack of actual content.

It should be no secret that the Neverwinter development team has been worn thin since its release back in 2013, but the fact has certainly become more apparent if you compare the game’s last couple of modules to the ones that were being released just a few years ago.

Neverwinter’s 22nd module was released a few days ago on the Preview Server, for the community to test before being released in the new year, and a wave of mostly negative feedback followed. Mostly due to the fact that the Enchantment and Refinement system in the game is getting a rework.

Neverwinter Release Module 22 on the Preview Server to Massive Community Backlash (Again) 1
The new Enchantments window in the Character screen.

Most players of Neverwinter have sunk either a lot of time or cash or both into these systems, and will now see a lot of that progress erased.

A large chunk of the game’s already shrinking player base has since the announcement of the changes taken to the forums or the Neverwinter subreddit to announce their departure from the game. It seems that Cryptic, in their attempt to make the game more accessible to new players is continuing to drive away their current players with these reworks.

Many players are also pointing out that these changes would be more acceptable if they were accompanied by some new content for the game, but Module 22 is sadly lacking in that aspect as well. The new zone coming with the module is just a reskinned version of the Sharandar zone from the game’s first module in 2013, Fury of the Feyfwild.

Old reskinned zones are sadly something the Neverwinter community has had to accept in the last few modules, something which would be dismissed as a bad April’s Fool joke had it been announced by any other relatively healthy MMO.

Hopefully the team at Cryptic will take the community feedback seriously this time, and stop doing things to drive away their player base.

CaptinHDY

Wednesday 12th of January 2022

Nope this is about it for me. These Frackers at Cryptic have screwed over this long term player once to many god dam times. I have been busting my ass to get those damn stones that are al frigging useless again. Just another BS attempt to knock us long term players back down to med Level. Cryptic you owe me 50,000 Frigging trade Bars and 100.00s of dollars I have sank into the game over the past year and yet again anther slap in the face knocking me back to where I was 3 or 4 years ago. I AM NOT, CAN NOT, AND WILL NOT WAST ANOTHER MOMENT OF MY LIFE IN YOUR DAMN GAME. I can not keep going through this BS over and over again. I am DONE with Neverwinter and will NEVER TRY TO PLAY ANOTHER CRYPTIC GAME NOR RECOMMEND A GAME FROM CRYPTIC AGAIN.

CaptinHDY

Wednesday 12th of January 2022

@CaptinHDY, NOT TO MENTION I AM NOT GOING TO UPGRADE TO A CRAPPY WINDOWS 10 EVER SO YOU WOULD PROBABLY LOOSE ME IN FEB WHEN YOU NO LONGER SUPPORT WIN7 FORCING ME FRO M32BIT TO 64BIT WAS BAD ENOUGH NOW WIN 10 OR 11 WITCH BY THE WAY I AM AN IT GUY BY TRADE AND KNOW HOW MUCH CRAP WINDOWS 10 AND 11 REALLY ARE AND THE COUNTLESS ISSUES THEY CAUSE TO USERS

Andii

Tuesday 14th of December 2021

I don't think you've actually seen the preview server because the new zone looks nothing even remotely close to the fury of the feywild area.

deadmano

Monday 13th of December 2021

I very strongly disagree with this, it's clear you are not familiar with the Neverwinter community, all this "backlash" is nothing more than people meming amongst friends and being taking out of context. The team at Cryptic has done a great job at simplifying switching builds on the fly with these runestone/enchantment changes, which is brilliant for the health of the game and progression going forward! As one of the best players in the game (first one in the server to complete Reaper's Challenge 50 times in a row), as well as being its largest content creator, I can tell you loadout-switching has been the most requested issued to fix by the playerbase, so let's not go spreading misinformation, surely there's easier ways of getting visits. On that note, if you're seeking assistance improving your SEO, feel free to contact me at https://www.deadmano.com/

Dracory

Monday 13th of December 2021

@LoL, while I agree about boasting, I could pull my guns out about soloing most of Reapers for my own challenge and also getting the first 50 done back to back, Deadmano... is right.

The new area just isn't a reskin and the grappling hook adds tons of verticality to it. 4 new questing areas in one map (4th locked until the adventure comes out on Feb 22), each has a specific, own feel to it while staying true to the lore.

Enchantment change isn't a cash grab, as far as I'm concerned. Enchants have been devalued for a long time. Now 4 purple will give you a net positive of what 4 r15s would give. Mythic is an end game goal that you can achieve within a little bit of farming dungeons for wards. 32 coalescent motes if you want guarantee and 192 marks for one set on one character to get every enchant to mythic.

I have 9 coalescent wards which will become motes - all of that after maybe 2 months of playing through dungeon drops.

My only complains are really about 5k combined rating missing from defensive stats (although we get a massive boost from new enchants, which theoretically should be enough) and brutal reputation grind in new campaign.

LoL

Monday 13th of December 2021

@deadmano, Wow...Full of yourself much? "I'm the best player blah blah blah me me me. Pffft.

Nobody cares bro.

Go white knight somewhere else.

Doesn't matter how much you try justifying Cryptic's actions, what they're doing is plain wrong & predatory.

Josh Strife Hayes

Sunday 12th of December 2021

This has got to be one of the most pay to win, predatory monetization system I've ever seen.

Hater

Monday 13th of December 2021

@Josh Strife Hayes, its a total scam witouth excuses...even if isnt needed, every new rework they make people spend money.. even if you were endgame on 3 characters u need to spend Ad... 10/20 milions a change.... This shouldnt be legal since its total money grabbing, and they still release things in Zen..where to get zens u need half a year (even more) Pay to play pay to win...

Hater

Monday 13th of December 2021

@Josh Strife Hayes,

Christopher Whiteside

Sunday 12th of December 2021

These changes are laughable, just the latest in a never ending story of cash grabbing schemes. The worst thing is the playerbase is willing to put up with this crap... Or are they?

TankReady

Monday 13th of December 2021

@Christopher Whiteside, Agreed!